Week 4 Assignment 1: Educational Technologies Blog

Week 4 Assignment 1: Educational Technologies Blog

Melitta Williams

http://www.scholastic.com/browse/article.jsp?id=3754742

The two mobile learning technologies I will reflect upon are I-pods and the GPS units.  According to Laureate Education, Inc. (Executive Producer, 2012c) “as we start to see little devices that you can carry in your hand, it’s going to give mobility to learning” (p.1).

With that said, Wylie (2012) illustrates that “the iPod Touch, for instance, is among the more popular mobile learning devices to hit classrooms across the country. This tactile, touch-screen device is easy for children to use, and comes with built-in Wi-Fi to access the Internet.” I feel that this is a great device that can be used with learners because of the easy access that is available for individuals to be used almost anywhere where Wi-Fi is available. For example my daughter and her classmates who are six years old use the I-pod in their class for solving math problems and the I-pad for learning the calendar, weather, and play learning games.

The rationale for why I would use this technology is because it offers a great way for learning to take place in almost any educational content due to the apps that can be downloaded in order to advance learning, I-pods can also help learners build relationships with one another if they are in a group setting, as well as making educators jobs easier when they are teaching where they can gather information and help lessen the workload of having to repeat their work if they record it.

Example 1:

I would incorporate using an I-pod by using applications which relate to what we were learning as a group and then having learners to participate by giving them guided directions into how to download applications making this as an assignment so they learn how to use technology more effectively.

Example 2:

The second way I would use I-pods in the classroom would be by storing educational lectures and assignments, diagraphs, etc.  where learners could not only hear what expectations I want them to be taught but also see examples of how to also complete their work.

http://tech2.in.com/features/all/what-is-agps-how-does-it-work/115142

As for the GPS S (2010) “this is an acronym for Assisted Global Positioning System. It addresses signal and network problems by using assistance from other services. GPS uses 27 satellites (24 currently working, 3 are meant for backup, in case of failure) to enable a person to pin-point his current location.” I feel that GPS are useful due to me not having a sense of direction and it came very handy this summer when I was traveling with my daughter and it got us to the location safe and sound.

The rationale for why I would use this technology is because this could help learners locate places; learn about geography and maps, as well as learn about other people and their surroundings which promote multicultural awareness.

Example 1:

I would use the GPS system as a geographical educational tool where learners would have to plan a trip and provide a detailed report of how they were able to get from their destination to remote location of choice as well as sharing the strengths and weaknesses of their journey.

Example 2:

The second way I would use the GPS system is by having learners do a hunt and finding clues to piece together a project. For example I would have 6 clues each clue would tell how and what the students should be looking for in order to solve the next piece of the puzzle to get reveal what the learning activity is based upon.

References

Laureate Education, Inc. (Executive Producer). (2012c). Mobile learning. Baltimore, MD: Author.

S, Kamakshi. (2010). What is a-GPS? How does it work? Retrieved from http://tech2.in.com/features/all/what-is-agps-how-does-it-work/115142

Wylie, J. (2012). Mobile learning technologies for 21st century classrooms. Retrieved from http://www.scholastic.com/browse/article.jsp?id=3754742

6 thoughts on “Week 4 Assignment 1: Educational Technologies Blog

  1. Hi Melitta,
    I am inspired by the way you would use GPS in lessons. I could have never imagined using them like that. Thanks for that.
    My language learners use the podcasting, video and audio features of iPods,iPhones and iPads in classes, too. They can easily create their podcasts, or videos they like any time anywhere and share them with their classmates.
    Thank you for sharing them.
    Su

    • Hi Su,
      Thanks for the feedback and information and it appears that you also have alot of creative ways of helping learners enjoy technology in the classroom. I think having technology incorporated into the classroom is a great idea because it gives learners so many opportunities to learn new things as well as how students will get a sense of achieving something for themselves. Thanks so much.
      Melitta

  2. Melitta,

    I am in the same boat when it comes to the GPS. I used to be ok at following directions but when the GPS came out, I became completely dependent on the device.

    I am interested in what you said about your daughter using the iPod touch in her classroom. I don’t really support mobile devices in a classroom session that is timed. If you only have an hour session to teach a subject to students, I don’t find the mobile devices appropriate. I do however think that using them in elementary school is a great idea. They could be easily used at a station within the classroom as the student’s transition from one subject to another.

    In the future I would welcome mobile devices in the 1 hour structured classroom setting as long as they could somehow be filtered as to what they can and can’t do. If these devices could be programed to only be used for educational apps or specific use in the classroom, then I think this would be ideal. The problem today is the distractions that they cause.

    Great Post!

    Jeremy G.

    • Hi Jeremy,
      Thanks for the comments and I would agree with your statements as they make a great debate about how to use technology wisely with learners. I also like your ideal about programming devices for educational structs and I feel that this would make for a great way of learning for the students and teachers and the focus can be reframed more towards what they are intending the devices to be used for. Thanks alot for your contribuations this week.
      Melitta

  3. Hey Melitta,

    I actually have both a GPS and a ipod touch. Both are great devices to have. If you have the ipod touch you really do not need the GPS. I did not know that you could use the ipod in school for teaching weather, calendars, and mathematics until I read your pod. I knew that the ipod touch has so many apps that it had the capability for this. I think that you have great ideas but I would start the students in your classroom in a one on one classroom session. This way the students get the academic attention they need to be successful. GPS has changed the way I travel and go anywhere because you can be in route to a destination and stop at restaurant, or activity by just a touch of the button. Another good thing about GPS is it has gotten faster on re routing your roads with traffic, or blocked roads.

    • Hi Hiraman
      Thanks for the feedback and comments and this is a great ideal to address the session with learners where there attention is the main focus, thanks for the input. As for the GPS yes it is a good device to have because it guides a person to find not only there way but also helps with geographical aspects. Thanks for your contribution this week and understanding.
      Melitta

Leave a Reply

